Last Night in the OR: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

Last Night in the OR: A Transplant Surgeon's Odyssey

For readers of Henry Marsh's Do No Harm, Paul A. Ruggieri's Confessions of a Surgeon, and Atul Gawande's Better, a pioneering surgeon shares memories from a life in one of surgery’s most demanding fields The 1980s marked a revolution in the field of organ transplants, and Bud Shaw, M.D., who studied under Tom Starzl in Pittsburgh, was on the front lines. Now retired from active practice, Dr. Shaw relays gripping moments of anguish and elation, frustration and reward, despair and hope in his struggle to save patients. He reveals harshly intimate moments of his medical career: telling a patient's husband that his wife has died during surgery; struggling to complete a twenty-hour operation as mental and physical exhaustion inch closer and closer; and flying to retrieve a donor organ while the patient waits in the operating room. Within these more emotionally charged vignettes are quieter ones, too, like growing up in rural Ohio, and being awakened late at night by footsteps in the hall as his father, also a surgeon, slipped out of the house to attend to a patient in the ER. In the tradition of Mary Roach, Jerome Groopman, Eric Topol, and Atul Gawande, Last Night in the OR is an exhilarating, fast-paced, and beautifully written memoir, one that will captivate readers with its courage, intimacy, and honesty.

Lung Transplantation: Principles and Practice

Lung Transplantation: Principles and Practice

Lung Transplantation: Principles and Practice covers the current practice in donor and recipient management as well as current treatment strategies and outcomes. With 39 chapters from international experts in the field, the book is divided into four broad sections: General Topics, Donor Management, Recipient Management and Outcome, and the Future of Lung Transplantation. The book discusses significant advances achieved in the past decade in areas such as donor allocation, organ preservation and management, recipient selection, management and support, surgical and critical care techniques, immune suppression, and infection prophylaxis. Specific instances of pulmonary disease that commonly necessitate lung transplantation are also covered. Generously illustrated in full color, this valuable resource is relevant to both specialists and other providers who may refer or care for patients before and after transplantation.

The Transplant

The Transplant

Stuck in a Croatian prison on a murder conviction, Jack Rowen, a former basketball player on the European circuit, jumps at the chance of a work release in the custody of a wealthy industrialist. He realizes too late that he's become a guinea pig. He's flown to a medical facility at an unknown desert location where he's forced to undergo the most advanced (but illegal) surgical procedure ever attempted: a brain transplant.Jack struggles to adapt to his new situation and, before long, an attempt is made on his life. On the run, he gets help from a rugged fisherman, his ex girlfriend and others as he tries to blow the lid off the affair and get his old body back.Turnquist turns in a pulse-pounding, gender-bending thriller. Contains adult language, violence and some adult sex.

The First 100 Days After Kidney Transplant Surgery

The First 100 Days After Kidney Transplant Surgery

You may ask " Why was this book written?". Since I was in medical school and later on continued my training that led me to become a transplant specialist, I found one recurrent problem that impacted medical results : Patient Education. I found over and over patients run into serious medical problems because they did not know enough about their illnesses. In the transplant field this lack of education can even be life threatening. I believe by educating yourself about your disease you will be more successful in coping with the illness. This book's aim is to provide education on the common events seen in the first 100 days after kidney transplant. My goal is to make these 100 days a better experience. This educational material includes three main sections: SECTION I: THE BASICS BEFORE KIDNEY TRANSPLANT: Introduction about how the kidneys work, what their main functions are and the usual labs that doctors use to evaluate kidney problems. SECTION II: FIRST 100 DAYS AFTER KIDNEY TRANSPLANT: Day by day explanation following transplant. We concentrate on important events that impact patient and graft survival. We provide helpful insights on important topics daily ; most often in chronological occurrence. SECTION III: FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS AFTER KIDNEY TRANSPLANTATION: A list of Q & A that have been carefully selected from staff with several years of experience in the transplant field. I hope you enjoy reading this book and that it helps you understand more about how a kidney transplant impacts your life. My wish is that this book will help the recipient gain the most of this precious gift (transplant). Fidel Barrantes M.D.

Hearts: Of Surgeons and Transplants, Miracles and Disasters Along the Cardiac Frontier

Hearts: Of Surgeons and Transplants, Miracles and Disasters Along the Cardiac Frontier

Pioneer heart surgeons and bitter rivals: The “thoroughly engrossing” true story of doctors Michael DeBakey and Denton Cooley (The New York Times Book Review). By 1970, the Texas Medical Center in Houston was the leading heart institute in the world, home to the field’s two most distinguished surgeons: Dr. Michael Ellis DeBakey and his young and ambitious disciple, Dr. Denton Arthur Cooley. Their combined mastery in occlusive disease, coronary artery bypass surgery, angioplasty, and heart transplants was unparalleled. For years they worked across the same operating table focused on, and fighting toward, the same lifesaving goals.   But what began as a personal friendship and a mutually respectful professional partnership soon deteriorated into a jealous and embittered feud. Though their discord was a cause célèbre among colleagues, it would take award-winning investigative journalist Thomas Thompson to uncover the stunning betrayals and simmering resentments that fueled one of the most famous rivalries in the history of medicine.   Weaving the story of DeBakey and Cooley with the stories of patients suffering life-threatening medical conditions, Thompson paints a fascinating portrait of the risks and rewards of cutting-edge science. From devastating tragedies to miraculous breakthroughs, Hearts is a richly detailed and utterly “compelling” account of the turmoil and tension behind one of the greatest medical achievements of the twentieth century (Time).  

Samantha Goes to the Hospital (Talking to Kids)

Samantha Goes to the Hospital (Talking to Kids)

Samantha Goes to the Hospital is the true story of a 9-year-old little girl getting ready for tendon transplants in both of her feet. Samantha and I are sharing her story to help other families deal with approaching surgeries or procedures. Samantha Goes to the Hospital is the true story of Sami's journey toward her tendon transplants and recovery. This book is a picture book designed for parents to read to their children who are preparing for a visit to the hospital. It's our hope that this book will answer some questions for children and help them to realize that life isn't over just because they have to have surgery. Life can still be fun, full of love and they will recover.

The Transplant Journey: A Guide to Transplant: Extraordinary Stories, Hope and Encouragement

The Transplant Journey: A Guide to Transplant: Extraordinary Stories, Hope and Encouragement

The process of transplant is about restoring life. I mean how truly amazing is modern medicine and science! They can now take organs from a person who is brain dead (yes, a person must be brain dead to be able to donate their organs; heart still beating, but no brain activity) and medication taken twice or more daily can keep that organ functioning and give new life to a person who, half a century ago, would be dead. And not just new life, but for many a life they had never dreamed of living.

Interactive Cardiac Surgery: A DVD-ROM

Interactive Cardiac Surgery: A DVD-ROM

This multimedia DVD-ROM provides a concise compendium of state-of-the-art cardiac surgery. Information covering the whole field of cardiac surgery is presented in a holistic concept: morphology and pathology specimen are displayed together with all types of diagnostic imaging methods, surgical schemes of treatment, and detailed photographic documentation. Electronically structured text is divided into a general part (technique of cardiopulmonary bypass, cardiac morphology, surgical approaches etc.) and a special part. The extraordinarily vast visual presentation (1270 pictures and 250 videos) involves illustrations, animated schemes and unique 3D models, diagnostic images of all kinds (ECHO, ECG, X-ray, CT, MRI, SPECT, catheterization), and close-ups from the operative field.

CafePress - Kidney Surgery Survivor - Natural Canvas Tote Bag, Cloth Shopping Bag

CafePress - Kidney Surgery Survivor - Natural Canvas Tote Bag, Cloth Shopping Bag

CafePress brings your passions to life with the perfect item for every occasion. With thousands of designs to choose from, you are certain to find the unique item you've been seeking. Travel in style with this cloth tote bag, professionally printed with your favorite design. These quality natural canvas hand bags are durable, professionally printed, and will satisfy all your reusable shopping bag needs. Also perfect as a beach tote, grocery bag, or book bag, these bags make great gifts for teachers or students, or treat yourself! And with CafePress, your satisfaction is always our promise...buy with confidence, as we offer easy returns and exchanges and a 100% money back guarantee.


«  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  »